Keeping Score to Get Ahead – by Betsy Hill

You know those days when it feels like you have a mountain to climb or a battle with Goliath on the horizon and you’re just not sure you can muster the will, the energy and the intestinal fortitude to tackle it?  We all have them.  And today a friend shared with me a way to focus on the smaller steps that get you up and moving.  Here’s how he describes his approach.

“When I wake up in the morning, I give myself a point … One for the home team, Zero for the competition.  Then I put my feet on the floor … Two for the home team,  Zero for the competition.  Next I stand up … Three for the home team, Zero for the competition.  Taking a shower, brushing my teeth …. By the time I’m out the door, I’m up 100 to nothing!”

Sometimes, breaking large looming projects down into smaller chunks can make a big difference.  The Chinese journey of a 1,000 miles starts with a single step.  The elephant to be eaten can only be consumed in bite-size portions.

So maybe it makes sense to try my friend’s score-keeping approach, getting out the door in the morning up 100 to nothing … With stats like that, why shouldn’t you be able to conquer the challenges ahead – look what you’ve already accomplished!

Leave a Reply

